Becoming a Dermatologist

The Training Program

Trainees in the program undertake four years of practical training in accredited clinical settings under the supervision of practicing dermatologists.

The State Faculties – New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia – in conjunction with the Director of Training in each State oversee the implementation of the national program in their state. Trainees are rotated through different positions in the course of the four years and have experience in city, rural, large and small hospital practice. There is the opportunity to apply to train overseas for one year.

In addition to on-the-job training, trainees have access to the National Skin School, a series of webinars run by dermatologists, to on-line modules which complement the training program, to the Annual Scientific Meeting and to special events run by each State Faculty. International Medical Graduates who have been accepted into the training program for upskilling purposes have on-line modules, breakfasts and meetings, and specific support tailor made to their needs.

Upon successful completion of the training course, graduands will receive their FACD at the conferring ceremony at the Annual Scientific Meeting in May of each year. A majority of dermatologists work in private practice, but also provide their services to hospitals and volunteer in remote areas of Australia. A number continue in research and acadaemia.

The handbook contains information about the structure and requirements of the Training Program and should be read in conjunction with the Education Policies.


Download Training Program Handbook

The Curriculum has been developed by experts in the field and provides a blueprint for the trainees from which their Training occurs.


Download Training Program Curriculum

Existing Dermatology Trainees with the Australasian College of Dermatologists also have the opportunity to train overseas for 12 months in the UK (6 months in Singapore) as part of their training program.

Training takes place in College accredited training positions. Trainees apply for the positions once they have commenced their 1st year of training. Current positions include:

  • The Churchill Hospital, Oxford (scholarship position)
  • St John’s Institute of Dermatology, London (scholarship position)
  • Queen’s Hospital, Romford (north-east London)
  • University College Hospitals, Fitzrovia (London)
  • St George’s Hospital, London
  • National Skin Centre Singapore