Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The College is governed by a Board of Directors who are elected, appointed and co-opted by the College membership. The Board meets regularly to discuss matters of governance and items that are brought to their attention via the State Faculty Chairs or the various Board related committees. In association with the College Management Committee, the Board sets the five year rolling Strategic Plan which is updated annually. There are five State faculties:

1. NSW (including ACT)
2. Victoria (including Tasmania)
3. Queensland
4. South Australia (including Northern Territory)
5. Western Australia

All committees which have an education brief report to the National Education Committee whose Chair sits on the Board of Directors. College has a large number of other committees, the most important from a governance perspective being the Audit Committee and the Risk Management Committee.

The Directors of College are required to reveal any pecuniary or professional interest which is in conflict, has the potential to be in conflict or might be perceived to be in conflict, with their duty as a member of the Board of Directors At each Board meeting, Directors are required to sign a Declaration of Interest and to speak to them at the Board meeting. The declarations of pecuniary and professional interest of the Directors are currently as follows:

Andrew Miller President

Dr Andrew Miller, MBBS (Hons), BSc (Med), FACD

Andrew Miller has worked in private practice for over 20 years, including as a VMO at both Calvary Hospital and the Canberra Hospital, where he is department head. He is a member of the AMA-ACT Board and the AMA Federal Council, and a Director of The
Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges.

Declaration of Interest

  • Consultancy “Know Your Skin” Campaign Leo/MSD
  • Director/Treasurer, AMA ACT P/L
  • Federal Councillor, AMA Ltd
  • Member, ACT Clinical Senate
  • Department Head, Dermatology Department, The Canberra Hospital
  • Director, The Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges
David Francis President-elect

Dr David Francis MBBS FACD

Dr David Francis MBBS FACD has been a Fellow of the Australasian College of Dermatologists (ACD) for more than 25 years,  previously having  graduated in Medicine from the University of Queensland. He is a Visiting Consultant Dermatologist at the Princess Alexandra Hospital and the Royal Brisbane and Womens Hospital, where he teaches Dermatologic Surgery. Dr Francis is also in private practice, working at the Dermatology Specialist Centre in Brisbane, which is a College recognized training centre for Mohs Micrographic Surgery. He has previously been a guest examiner for the Australian College of Dermatologists and serves on their Board of Directors. He is presently the President-elect of the ACD.

He is a Fellow of the American College of Mohs surgery and a Senior Lecturer with the University of Queensland Medical School.

Dr Francis is also a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Declaration of Interest

  • VMO
  • Princess Alexandra Hospital
  • Involved in securing funding for the professor of Dermatology position at University of Queensland


Andrew Satchell 0980 Honorary Secretary

Dr Andrew Satchell, MB,BS (Adel), BMedSci (Hons), MM (Syd)

Andrew Satchell is a Visiting Medical Officer at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital supervising the registrars in dermatological surgery each week. He also runs a private practice in Camperdown and does Mohs Surgery.

Declaration of Interest

  • Visiting Medical Officer, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Adrian Lim 150706 Dean of Education

Dr Adrian Lim, FACD

Adrian Lim is a Visiting Medical Officer/staff specialist at the Royal North Shore Hospital (NSW) with special interest in laser dermatology and phlebology.

Declaration of Interest

  • His partner operates Cyromed Australia (a laser/device distributing company)
  • President of The Australian College of Phlebology
Robert Kelly IMG_6377aa Board Member

Dr Robert I Kelly, FACD

Rob Kelly is the Head of Clinical Dermatology at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne. He also works in private practice in Hawthorn East.

Declaration of Interest

  • Head of Clinical Dermatology, St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne
Andrew Miller Board Member

Professor Ingrid M Winship, MBChB, MD (Human Genetics), FRACP, FACD

Ingrid Winship is a Professor of Adult Clinical Genetics at the University of Melbourne (2006-) and a Director of Genetic Medicine, Melbourne Health (2006-)

Declaration of Interest:

  • Member of the Genetics Working Group of the National Health and Medical Research Council.
  • National Statement Chapter 3.5 Genetics & Genomics Working Committee of the National Health and Medical Research Council.
  • Member of the Australian Health Ethics Committee of the National Health and Medical Research Council
  • Member of the Doherty Institute Council
  • Member of Kinghorn Centre for Clinical Genomics Strategic Advisory Board
  • Governor of the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Member of Executive Management Committee of Melbourne Genomic Health Alliance
  • Director of the Board of Global Variome
  • Member of the NZ Health Research Strategy Advisory Committee
Board Member 

Mr Phillip Hyde